New House Hearings on Kosovo

by Karen Talbot

The International Relations Committee of the U.S. House of Representatives is holding a hearing on Kosovo Tuesday, September, 28,1999.

I urge everyone to contact members of the Committee to let them know about our outrage over the U.S./NATO bombing of Yugoslavia, with its death, destruction and terrible aftermath of radiation from depleted uranium weapons, the thousands of cluster bomblets scattered across the countryside, and the appalling long-lasting destruction of the environment.

Children have been the first victims and will continue to die and suffer under the harsh economic sanctions imposed on Yugoslavia. Let us express our opposition to the ongoing policies of sanctions and destabilization, including those regarding Kosovo itself.

The UN resolution on Kosovo, as limited as it is, is being blatantly violated daily by (1) the U.S./NATO condoning and thereby aiding in the killing and "ethnic cleansing" of more than 200,000 Serbs from Kosovo as well as Romany people and anyone who opposes the fascistic KLA (including many ethnic Albanians); (2) by their refusal to demilitarize the KLA (under one pretext or another); (3) by violating the sovereignty of Yugoslavia, which the resolution pledges to uphold. This is being done in many ways such as establishing a separate currency, border guards, allowing the takeover, and moving towards the privatizing, of public enterprises, including valuable mines, factories, hospitals, etc.

In outright violation of the UN resolution, there is now open aknowledgement that the U.S. is supporting independence for Kosovo, something that has always been denied, although many of us understood that this was on the agenda.

We urge that you to demand the sanctions be lifted, the UN resolution be upheld fully, and reparations be extended to the Yugoslav people who so desperately need basic necessities-- food, medicines and the means to rebuild their infrastructure and factories.

The legal suit brought by Congressman Campbell, and other Members of Congress, charging the Clinton Administration with violating the U.S. Constitution by not obtaining the consent of the Congress for the war against Yugoslavia, will be heard in Appellate Court on October 22. We urge you to express to the Members of the Committee all-out support for that legal action.

Please send messages email and fax at least the Chair and Ranking democrat, plus the fax numbers for the Democrats and the Republicans. Below are all the email adressses available. (Also some individual phone and fax numbers have been listed-if you want to call or fax individuals--there has been no time to list all of them.)

U.S. House of Representatives

International Relations Committee --

Committee Members

Chairman : Benjamin A. Gilman(R-NY)202-225-3776, fax:202-225-2541

Ranking Democratic Member: Sam Gejdenson, T: 202-225-2076 Fax:202-225-4977

Republican Members ---Fax 202-225-2035

William F. Goodling, PA-202-225-5836 Fax: 202-226-1000

James A. Leach, IA-203-225-6576 Fax:202-226-1278 E-mail:talk2jim@mail.house.gov

Henry J. Hyde, IL-202-225-4561 Fax: 202-225-1166

Doug Bereuter, NE--202-225-4806 Fax: 202225-5686

Christopher H. Smith, NJ-202-225-3765 Fax: 202-225-7768

Dan Burton, IN-202-225-2276 Fax: 202-225-0016 rep.burton@mail.house.gov

Elton Gallegly, CA--202-225-5811 Fax: 202-225-1100

Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, FL-202-225-3931 Fax:202-225-5620

Cass Ballenger, NC- 202-225-2576 Fax: 202-225-0316 cass.ballenger@mail.house.gov

Dana Rohrabacher, CA

Donald A. Manzullo, IL

Edward R. Royce, CA

Peter T. King, NY peter.king@mail.house.gov

Steven J. Chabot, OH

Marshall "Mark" Sanford, SC sanford@mail.house.gov

Matt Salmon, AZ msalmon@mail.house.gov

Amo Houghton, NY

Tom Campbell, CA

John M. McHugh, NY

Kevin Brady, TX

Richard Burr, NC

Paul Gillmor, OH

George P. Radanovich, CA george.radanovich@mail.house.gov

John Cooksey, LA

Tom Tancredo, CO Democratic Members-Fax: 202-226-3581

Tom Lantos, CA

Howard L. Berman, CA howard.berman@mail.house.gov

Gary L. Ackerman, NY

Eni F.H. Faleomavaega, AS faleomavaega@mail.house.gov

Matthew G. Martinez, CA

Donald M. Payne, NJ donald.payne@mail.house.gov

Robert Menendez, NJ menedez@mail.house.gov

Sherrod Brown, OH sherrod@mail.house.gov

Cynthia A. McKinney, GA cymck@mail.house.gov

Alcee L. Hastings, FL alcee.pubhastings@mail.house.gov

 

Pat Danner, MO

Earl F. Hilliard, AL callme#earl@mail.house.gov

Brad Sherman, CA brad.sherman@mail.house.gov

Robert Wexler, FL (FL19) fl19.wyr@mail.house.gov

Steven R. Rothman, NJ steven.rothman@mail.house.gov

Jim Davis, FL

Earl Pomeroy, ND rep.earl.pomeroy@mail.house.gov

William D. Delahunt, MA william.delahunt@mail.house.gov

Gregory W. Meeks, NY

Barbara Lee, CA-202-225-2661 Fax: 202-225-9876 barbara.lee@mail.house.gov

Joseph Crowley, NY

Joseph M. Hoeffel, PA

 

* * *

If you're reading this article in a site other than Emperors-Clothes.com and would like to see more articles please click here or go to http://emperors-clothes.com